Page 1 of 2
In 1790, Loyalist Mary Jones Gage and her two children were granted two-hundred acres of land on which they built their first log home. In 1796, this was replaced by a story-and-a-half frame house and from there on, the Gage house was a place destined to become a historic site.
The house was used as headquarters by the invading US army in 1813 who were beaten back after a brilliant attack by the British troops in June. (One of the more fascinating people of this conflict was Billy Green who is well worth learning about.)
In 1836 the family sold the home as Mary's son James had gone into business in Hamilton. The house changed hands many times over the years until the Women's Wentworth Historical Society (run by a great-granddaughter of Mary at the time,) acquired it in 1899 and set about setting up the home and the surrounding four acres as a park.
Today, after being taken over for a time by Niagara Parks, it is now run by the City of Stoney Creek and run lovingly as "The Battlefield House Museum".
In October, the house runs a "haunted spirit walk" and this is what drew us to the site. We contacted the house and were told by the curator at the time that "Mrs Gage... We think she is a nice ghost though."
We will be visiting the home shortly for a more detailed report but are hoping that people might fill in some of the blanks for us before we journey to the house.